[Video Summary] How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Claim in Missouri
- Missouri's statute of limitations for personal injury claims is 5 years from the date of the injury.
- It is advisable not to delay speaking to a personal injury attorney, like Ross Paczkowski, as soon as possible after an accident.
- Delaying can lead to evidence degradation and fading witness memories, making it harder to secure compensation.
- Peterson and Associates offer free initial consultations with no obligation to hire them.
- They emphasize a "no win, no fee" policy, encouraging individuals injured due to negligence to contact them promptly for legal representation.
[Video Transcript] How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Claim in Missouri
Hi I'm Ross Paczkowski, an attorney at Peterson and Associates here in Kansas City. One question we're often asked is how long do I have to file a personal injury claim in Missouri? The short answer is that in Missouri the statute of limitations for personal injuries is 5 years. That means you have 5 years from the date of your injury to file your claim. But please don't let that time frame cause you to delay speaking to an attorney.
In fact we recommend that you speak to personal injury lawyers like us as soon as is possible after an accident that has left you injured. There are many additional legal nuances when it comes to the statute of limitations so please contact us as soon as possible to further discuss and evaluate.
When you wait too long evidence can degrade or be destroyed and witness memories can fade making it harder for us to get you the compensation that you deserve.
That's why we offer free initial consultations with no obligation to hire us. The sooner you get in touch with us the better we can represent you! If you've been injured due
to someone else's negligence contact us today. And remember: No Win, No Fee, It's that Simple! Don't Wait, Call the 8's!
The statute of limitations in Missouri is five years. This means that if you are injured, you must file your claim within five years of the injury. If you wait longer than five years to file a personal injury claim, you may lose your right to file.
While Missouri law grants a five-year window to file a claim, we strongly discourage you from delaying that long. In fact, we recommend that you speak to our personal injury lawyers as soon as possible after an accident that was not your fault has left you injured. That way, we can advise you about your options for filing a claim with the at-fault party's insurance company or filing a lawsuit in civil court to get the compensation you are entitled to after an accident.
We offer free initial consultations with no obligation to hire us. The sooner you get the ball rolling, the more likely it is that we will be able to secure important evidence and build a strong claim for compensation. If you were hurt in a car accident, slip and fall, or dog attack, or you think you might have a medical malpractice claim against a doctor or hospital, don't wait five years. Contact us as soon as possible.