COVID-19 UPDATE: We are open! Our team is working and offering consultations via phone, e-mail, and video conferencing.

Kansas City Personal Injury Attorney

816.298.8708
Call Today For A Free Consultation
Peterson & Associates, P.C.

Our Blog

What are Missouri's Safety and Emissions Inspections?

Jan 2, 2020

Male inspector with clear goggles and a clipboard checking out a vehicle

If you plan to register or renew the registration for your vehicle, you may be required to undergo safety and emissions inspections conducted by the state. Once you’ve had your vehicle inspected, the inspection is valid for two registration years as long as you don’t sell it.

Vehicle inspections cost $12 and inspectors are not allowed to charge more than that amount.

You will be provided with a certificate of inspection that is valid for 60 days in order to prove that you have completed it. If you bought a vehicle from a dealer in Missouri, the certificate they provide is valid for 90 days as long as the inspection was concluded no more than 60 days from the date of purchase.

Which Vehicles Do Not Require Inspection?

The following vehicles do not require inspection:

  • Vehicles that are less than 10 years old and have less than 150,000 miles, including vehicles with out-of-state titles.
  • All trailers.
  • Vehicles that are registered with the Missouri Department of Transportation and engage in intrastate commerce.
  • Vehicles with historic license plates.
  • Vehicles that are sold for rebuilding, salvage, or junk.
  • Vehicles that are sold from one dealer to another.
  • Low-speed vehicles.
  • Vehicles that are registered for less than one year and for 26,000 pounds or more.

Necessary Equipment for Inspection

The following vehicular equipment is necessary in the state of Missouri:

  • Brakes
  • Headlights
  • Taillights
  • Signaling devices
  • Steering mechanism
  • Tires and wheels
  • Safety glass
  • Windshield
  • Vision reducing material may not be present if it reduces your visibility, other than labels and stickers required by law or ordinance
  • Windshield wipers
  • Seat belts
  • Horn
  • Exhaust system
  • Mirrors
  • Air pollution control devices
  • Fuel system
  • Mudflaps - only if you drive a truck without rear fenders and is registered for over 24,000 pounds
  • Bumpers
  • License plates - one in the front and in the rear
  • License plate light

Emissions Inspections

If you reside in St. Louis City or the counties of St. Louis, St. Charles, Franklin, or Jefferson, you are additionally required to endure emissions inspections.

If you are involved in a car accident and you’ve been injured, the attorneys at Peterson & Associates are here to help. Don’t hesitate; contact us right away.

Call Peterson & Associates today at (816) 298-8708 to discuss your potential case.

Categories: Auto Accidents

Contact Our Law Firm for a Free Consultation

Peterson & Associates, P.C. provides free consultations when you call or contact us online.

Our law office is located in Kansas City, Missouri at:

Missouri’s Country Club Plaza
801 W. 47th Street, Suite 107
Kansas City MO 64112.

We do not charge our personal injury clients a fee unless their case is won, so there is no fee unless we win your case. Get in touch with us today as the first step in your pursuit of justice!

Injured? We Can Help You!

Fill out the form below for a free case evaluation.

  • Please enter your name.
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please enter your city
  • Please enter your State
  • Please enter your Zipcode
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.